Yvette Learning & Having Fun – Lesson 1 (Nov 30 to Dec 6)

Collages6

JGC did offer 3 weeks of holiday programme after the term ended. I didn’t sign Yvette for the programme mainly I feel holiday should be holiday. It shouldn’t be incorporated with too many programmes. I feel my kid deserves a well break during her holiday.

So I decided to surf around in this wonderful blog sphere to find out what Yvette could learn at home while still having fun.

Thanks to all mummies out there who so willing to share what they did with their child and this benefits me so much. I adopted some of the activities they did with their child and incorporated some of my own ideas too. I need to read up more about Learning Childhood Learning and yet have much time to do so.

Anyway, I manage to plan the lesson adopting A Letter A week, A Word A Day. I also included craft, Maths (or I should say number), Science (Experiencing and Experimenting) & motor skill activities to do in the entire week. (Depending on the time I have with Yvette. I try but we don’t do A Word A Day faithfully.)

I did not start immediately after she turned 18 mths mainly due to her class with JGC was still on and we going away for about a week holiday. I didn’t want to start and couldn’t get the momentum going. So it was delay till last week and finally I can kick off the first lesson.

If you will like to find out what we did for the past week in details, click to continue.

琬文学华文周记 – 第一课 (30 Nov – 6 Dec)

Chinese - Lesson 1

This is the First Chinese Lesson I have designed for my child.

She likes me reading those dates, greeting to her. Some mornings, she will walk to the board and point to the board and make sure I will read it to her. Perhaps due to her name is there too.

Yvette didn’t really like the book chosen but she like the idea of reading the word from the word card. And this was the first time I have shown her these cards. She love reading aloud with me if she could pronounce those words.

She didn’t show much interest on the animal I taught using Rhymes. She likes the fruit of the week. She loves the book I make for her about our family.

Tongue Twister (绕口令) is incorporated as part of the curriculum. We chosen Tongue Twister over Poetry because, we find Tongue Twister livelier, much easy to learn. I just don’t have a feel for Poetry!

If you will like to find out what we did for the past week in details, click to continue.

Continue reading

Peek-a-boo!

Yvette had been to different indoor playground for many times and hubby had yet followed us to any. Hubby was clearing most of his annual leaves in this month suggested we should go one together.

After thinking which playground to go, I decided to bring Yvette to Peek-a-boo located at Leisure Park Kallang.

IMG_3697

This is a small set up as compare to the rest we have been; except bigger than Atlantis City at Delta. But I feel this is the best match for children age from 6 mths to 4 years old.

These are the list of stuffs I like about this playground.

  • It’s covered with floor mat from the entrance all the way to the playground.
  • They play educational programme during their operating hours.
  • They do have slides, toys for younger kids like Yvette
  • The height of the main playground was just right.
  • You are able to surf wireless for free if you bring along your own device, such as laptop.
  • A café for snack but no outside food allowed. (They didn’t stop us when we fed Yvette her biscuit.)

There are some dislikes too.

  • No toilet, no nursing room.
  • Re-entering time is 10 mins.
  • No space to put our belonging. (We left our bags on the floor mat near the glass door.)
  • Although the height was just right but the stairs of the playground was not well baby-proof. (Hubby gotten himself a bruise when playing with Yvette.) The suspension bridge in the middle of the main playground looks dangerous to me too.

Peek-a-boo

Peek-a-boo1

Peek-a-boo2

We didn’t stay there for long, properly for 45 mins. There was one unhappy incident happened.

Yvette was climbing up the steps on of the slide with me helping her and this boy, (I think he is around 6 to 7 years old) lying on the slide and refuse to let Yvette slide down. I waited for a min and carried Yvette down the slide reading the boy’s body language (He was not prepared to share.)

This boy marched forward us and pushed Yvette down. I was so shocked and went forward to pick Yvette up and was angrily scolding the boy. This boy still didn’t want to let Yvette go and marched forward us again. This time, I pushed him away but the strength I used was not strong to push him down. (I didn’t want to push him down too.) And I started to scold him more harshly.

I demanded him to bring me to his parent and the staff stepped in. (I guess his parent was not there.)

Hubby was really unhappy with this incident and we started to watch Yvette more closely rather than letting her play freely. We decided to make a move because we felt it a threat to continue playing with this boy around.