Cancer Is A Word, Not Sentence

First I will like to thank everyone who has made effort to shower me support and asking me to stay strong. Yes I do, I live normally, eat normally, I blog and my life definitely goes on.

I cried, I feared. Although I still have the thought that the cause was merely due to I was wanted to have second kid and yet the outcome is unbelievable. I stopped asking myself why. No point. I won’t have answer. This is life, and this is my life.

Yes it is official, medically I am at STAGE 1 of Cancer. And I have more than 90% of recovery chance.

Cancer_IMG_0540

I am young, (less than 40). My HCG is not more than a thousand. This was found out within 4 mths. And it is still contain in uterus. (According to CT and MRI Scan, none of my body was affected, except there is abnormality in uterus.)

Cancer_ IMG_0539

The treatment had started.

I was given two jabs. Both on backside. The jabs need to be done weekly and again I will be monitored through blood test.  In any case, this still can’t bring my HCG down, (which is very unlikely), I will have to consider to remove my uterus.

Cancer_IMG_0541

I was enlighten after reading the article above in my gynae’s clinic. I realised, I was lucky. I was detected so early and I will be saved.

I was sent by Dr Wong back to Dr Chan’s clinic for a final check around my uterus, ovary and tubes before the jabs were given.

Some of you might want to ask, even my sister and colleague told me to get second opinion. In my case, I feel there isn’t a need.

First molar pregnancy is rare. (How many of you have heard of this?)

Second, I believe I have the best gyane. (Perhaps he might not be the first gynae in Singapore, but he is the best in my eye.) He had did so much read up for my case and he is also analysing my case with another oncologist.

And lastly, I like Karmen Wong. She is exactly like my gyane. She is systematic and truthful. She told me, the last patient she had treated due to molar pregnancy was 10 years back. Certainly she is reading a lot about this and at the same time, (She shown it to my gyane and my gyane told me about it) she was checking my case with another 2 more oncologists. (Yes I trust the integrity of these doctors.) So although I was reviewed by these two doctors phyically, but all in all, there were 5 doctors working on my case.

So there is no need to seek second opinion for this case because it is really not common and of course, even you tell me how good the oncologist is, I might not able to afford the fee.

Lucky I have a policy to cover the co-insurance. I have spoken to my agent and she will be meeting me next week to help me to submit the claim. I hope everything can be claimed but I know the chance to claim those bills caused by pregnancy is low.

I believe I will be fine…….

25 thoughts on “Cancer Is A Word, Not Sentence

  1. In fact, it’s good that you were trying for a child, so thought to test for pregnancy, or it might not have been detected. It’s not common for uterine cancer to be discovered in it’s very early stages, so for you, it’s really a blessing.! Hope the jabs don’t have much side effects! My friend had a hysterectomy thru only a day-surgery bc it was keyhole at KKH, by the way, so it’s not so major. Not bc of cancer but bc of prolapse and after so many kids and her age, she thot it was really time to part. ;P

  2. I have always enjoyed reading your entries and you strike me as a woman of strength and tenacity. I believe you have made the right decision of not seeking a second opinion; sometimes too many opinons confuse and delay action. Here’s wishing you a speedy recovery!

  3. Dear fren.. stay positive and be positive. You will be able to fight this battle! don’t let depression and negativity gets in the way.. You can do it!!

  4. So sorry to hear that. I believe you will stay strong and have a positive mind. Fully equip with both, you will be fine. Hope you have a speedy recovery.

  5. I read your entries on your molar pregnancy with shock as I had been busy travelling and only read your latest entries today. Your strength and positive outlook truly touched me, and I am confident you will ride through this part of your life, emerging stronger and healthier. Speedy recovery to you and stay strong! We will all be behind you with our support 🙂

  6. That’s the spirit! Hats off to you! Yup, stay positive.
    Do hang in there! It will be over soon I believe.
    Take good care of yourself and eat well ok? 🙂

  7. Indeed, this is life and everyone has to overcome his/her obstacle when the time comes. Keep up your positive spirit and you’d win the battle very soon. All the very best!!!

  8. Pingback: Our Breastfeeding Journey – 3yrs 1 Mth | Once In A LifeTime

  9. Hi Mummy S, i hope i m not late to leave u a message here !!! Been busy travelling & just read ur recent entries too . Stay Strong & Be Positive ! u’ll be just fine ! You still have “us” here behind you with our support 🙂

  10. Hi Shirley,

    have not been reading your blog for a while and was shocked to hear about the news. but let’s not be disheartened. i know you are not. you will be cured and you will get better in no time. i have faith in you. jia you mummy! 🙂 jiayou jiayou jiayou!!

    Hugs,
    Nicole

  11. Hi Shirley,
    I’m glad you sound so strong and determined. Stay cheerful – It’ll help you to recover faster too! Take care.

  12. Sunflower, I’ve not come by your blog for some time and this news came as a shock to me. I am so sorry to hear that. Your positive attitude is inspiring. I believe you will recover as it’s still in the very early stage. Stay strong! Hugs.

  13. Hi there,

    I’m so sorry to hear about your illness. It’s not going to be an easy journey but I can see strength from your words. I wish you a speedy recovery.

  14. Shirley, I believe you are a strong and brave woman who will overcome your weakness.

    And I just want to tell you that your blog is truly inspiration and makes me feel motivated to do more things with my kid who is the same age with Yvette.

    With your character and positive attitude, I believe u will overcome this!!

  15. i am just a passer by and am sorry to hear that. Just want to share with you that early detection is almost like the battle won. I was trying for a baby with my hubby for a year plus and no results and just 3 weeks ago, he was diagnoised with leukemia…which came upon as a shock for us. The tears flowed, the questions asked, fear descended. We have come to accept it and he has started his medication which he has to take for life and the medication is not cheap either, $150 a day for the rest of his life. The side effect is we may not be able to have a kid which is another sad news for us. The consolation is, he feels normal and is reacting well to the medication and with proper care and continued medication, he can lead his life as per normal. So we also try to stay positive and not let this get us down.
    Just wanted to share this with you to let you know that you are not alone and do continue to stay strong! Btw, sunflower is my fav flower, so bright a cheery! God Bless….

  16. Have not been back visiting the blogosphere for some time and I am surprise to see this update. Continue to stay positive…which I think your mindset is really something everyone needs to learn from, towards facing adversity. Half the battle is won when u have a strong will to fight this…which I am sure you will triumph over all. Do take care.

  17. Pingback: Math-ness In Progress #2 | Once In A LifeTime

  18. Pingback: Respiratory. Lung. | Once In A LifeTime

Leave a Reply

