Books Yvette Read in February 2011

Our home learning is getting a bit restricted due to no time at my end. I didn’t have much time for creating materials and I don’t have much energy left at the end of the day. I am getting busier and busier each day in office. Again I guess I am wrong to get a contract job after all.

So now, we spent most of our time doing reading and reading is very addictive now. We can easily spend an hour just doing reading. I managed to get her interest in other book instead of reading those two favourite books she loves from the library by not borrowing them anymore.

Read in Feb 11 - IMG_0955

I managed to channel her love into this book. The Grouchy Ladybug by Eric Carle. I love Eric Carle book. They are not only story but there are many facts found in his book. This book is about telling time, learning size, shape,learning animals and learning manner. The Grouchy Ladybug didn’t say “please” or “thank you”; it wouldn’t share; it thought it was bigger and more important than anyone else.

I doubt Yvette pick up the “moral” of the story but the catchy line said by Grouchy ladybug really gets into her – “Hey you,” said the grouchy ladybug. “Want to fight?” “If you insist,”….

I planned to continue reading this book in March and plan to do a lapbook study for this.

I managed to get her read aloud these two books for me and found out she could read most of the words in it.

Read in Feb 11 - IMG_0956

And she could read aloud these two reader books after I  read aloud to her for 2-3 times.

Read in Feb 11

For Chinese reading, I stop giving her 我会读. We revisited 皮皮狗 and found out is was a hit. She loves it so much and both of us have to read to her each night spearately. She loves till the extend she could remember most of the story line in the story and she always want to read them.

Read in Feb 11 - IMG_0957

Out of these 3 stories, she loves 我不想上幼儿园 the most; especially these line – 呜哇!我也不想上幼儿园!then she skipped a few lines and continue 妈妈不要我了! 妈妈!不哭,不哭,妈妈会来接你的,现在老师和你一起玩!

We made progress for 四五块读. We are at Chapter 5 of book 1 now.

3 thoughts on “Books Yvette Read in February 2011

  1. That is the reason why when I bought 皮皮狗 books, I refused to buy the “I don’t want to sleep” and “I don’t want to go to youeryuan” and the “Wo hui la bian bian”(I think?). Urgh. haha.

Leave a Reply

