Madness Monday – Not A Good Start

I tweeted and FB about it – “Unbelievable my rice cooker choose to die on me at this hour!!!”

This cooker I brought in last May decided to die on me early in the morning. Luckily the rice was already cooked when it was dead!!! Since this cooker was still under warranty and Philips is just around the corner, I got this cheap one as standby. D will bring this cooker to repair after CNY.

Madness Monday  24 Jan -  IMG_0425

As I always want to share what we are eating for dinner – sharing how you could have home-cooked dinner even you are working. (I have 2 weeks of back log related to dinner to blog. )Here are our menu f0r tonight. (The soup is Borlotti Bean Soup) I cooked them before I left home this morning except for vegetable.

Madness Monday  24 Jan

*****************

On the average, sadly, Yvette been down with fever, flu and cough after I have sent her to school since last Sept 10. She was so much better when she was attending playgroup in JGC.

Weather is unpredictable now.  It can be super sunny. It can be raining all day. Staying in air-con CC really making Yvette weaker. Plus I feel her mood is still down although she laughed.

I did toy about changing school for her when I knew there is another CC around my vicinity. This school will be under the void deck, non aircon. I even went to the school to take a look and talk to the principal too.

Madness Monday  24 Jan - IMG_0214

The new school under the void deck

However, there are many factors I really have to consider carefully before the switch. (Yvette really loves this school. And the curriculum wins hand down. Plus separation anxiety is something I don’t wish to go thru again.)

Sigh.

I was called up by the school around 4 plus informing Yvette was running fever @ 38.2 degree. I dropped off all my work and packed up to school. Actually Yvette is having very mild fever since we were in Ikea last Saturday. We found out when we were in Ikea and she was having very light running nose too.

I fed her Bifen (I always started off with Bifen instead of Parmol because Bifen is stronger.) And she was well again the next day morning. Fever was then back again on Sun afternoon and Monday morning she was perfectly alright. In fact, even her teachers were surprise she was sick – In most cases, she is always active when she is sick.

Anyway, on my way to her school, I have made up my mind that I will keep her home for another day to make sure her body is strong enough to fight against virus – many sick children in school (I see/hear children coughing, mucus on around their nose area.)

I don’t blame all these parents. I know it is not easy to juggle work and family. I know some bosses don’t like their staffs keep taking leave to take care of kid. – You know, in Singapore it is very very difficult to strike work-life-balance! So you see, how to improve birth rate! No money how to feed children!!!

That’s the reason why I chosen a contract job to start with. I will not be bother by keeping excellent performance. As long as I complete my job, I should be fine. I do not have care child leave and I am only entitled to take leave after working for 3 months. However, this didn’t deter me from taking leave. To me, money is secondary when Yvette is in the picture. I have decided to go ahead with unpaid leave so that I can spend my day with Yvette tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

