My Little Buffet Eater

Yes, my child who I have posted many many posts of rambling in this site about how she doesn’t like to eat has finally outgrown this problem. I am glad by allowing her not to sit properly at dinner table, she is finally eating very well (for lunch and dinner) after she turned Two. (Yes, I still allow her to move around at home when we are having meal.)

You might think that since she can’t be at Dinner Table at home, she must have poor table manners when come to eating out. Surprisingly, she behaves totally opposite. Of course Ipod Touch plays a good role of keep her at the table when we are eating out but when come to eating buffet, it is the food that attracts her. Mind you, she can sit on the table for 2-3 hours without fussing and this is not the first time we are out eating buffet.

My niece, Cheryl arranged a dinner date for the family. Although we eat together from time to time, we rarely eat out for buffet unless for celebration. (We had our last buffet in June celebrating my SIL’s birthday.)

Whenever she enters a restaurant that serves buffet, her very first reaction is “wow”! Then she will start to point out the food to us. We will definitely carry her to the buffet counter to show her all the selections of food and allow her to choose the food she wants to try. She will happily choose the food she want, and start to eat.

We were here – Kublai Khan Mongolian BBQ at Park Mall. After adding the service charge and the GST, we pay S$35.50 for adult and Yvette dined for free. (They only start charging child with height of 110 cm and above.)

IMG_5689

They have 150 delicious dishes and they do look yummy too. But not everything is nice.

Their specialty Mongolian BBQ – So so only.

26 mths5

Mongolian BBQ is a combination of freshly sliced meat, accompaniments and sauces prepared in Mongolian style. Chefs in traditional outfits demonstrating their unique culinary expertise in full view of all our diners at the heart of our restaurant.

IMG_5693

The cooked dishes and the Main courses. I didn’t capture everything. I have tried the chilli crab which I think it is value for money. I didn’t have chance to try to pepper crab as it was all gone after it’s served. I like the beef lasagne. I like the mini pizza too. I ate none of the main course so I can’t comment. The chicken wing is great. D & my niece tried the Tom Yam Noodle and they said is great. Love the Mantou. None of us try the Shark Fin Soup. I tried the baked oyster which I think it didn’t get rib of the fishy taste. They are some local delights like Fired Hor Fun, Noodles, which we didn’t try too.

26 mths7

The Japanese spread. The sushi rice is not fantastic but it was Yvette favourite. Yvette like the soba too which I think it is below average.

IMG_5705

The Dim Sum. I like the beancurb but I don’t like the porridge which most of them claimed good too. (I wonder who got weird taste here?)

26 mths8

The Sashimi and the Starters are fresh. Base on the price that we are paying to dine on Weekend, it is really worth while.

The deserts and fruits that I never feel like eating. (I think the dessert is good because D & my nieces did try them.) However, I missed out taking picture of the Longan and the Fungus soup.

26 mths6

In case I miss out anything, you can find all the varieties here.

So much about food, let me bring the lime light back to Yvette.

She really can eat a lot. Most of the time I was feeding her and forget about eating. She filled up her stomach with too much food till her tummy started to bulge! My niece taken a picture of it. I hope to get it from her and share with everyone here.

Toward the end of the buffet, she still wants to eat. She finished one sushi after another sushi. And the way she could eat them really freak my niece, Capri out. She separated all of them and ate them individually.

26 mths9

To us, she’s already very very full but she still eye on her Daddy’s dessert till she got a mouthful from her Daddy. Look at this picture, how greedy she was.

IMG_5758

Here my favourite picture for the day. Again, Yvette was soooooooo happy!

IMG_5734

6 thoughts on “My Little Buffet Eater

    • hehe… tat make it hungry too if I read this post. I am not sure your boy will have Yvette’s appetite but one thing for sure, I learn, sometimes we can’t have best of the world. Maybe some mummies will judge me that I am not reinforcing the need of Table Manners on Yvette. But that when your child is very willing to eat and doesn’t need to be “forced to eat”. Yvette is a very fussy eater and her weight doesn’t move much from 0 mth to 2 years old.

      Actually Yvette didn’t really walk around much now and could sit on the table to eat with us. But from time to time, she will not like to stay on the table when we are having dinner.

      To me, as long as she eat, I don’t care how she eat at home and I believe, she will outgrown this habit and eat with us on Table one day because she set her an example!

Leave a Reply

