She Goes “Merlion”

We were in B’s car on our way to collect those toys I brought from Singapore Motherhood Spree. Suddenly, Yvette just throw out in front of me. I was shocked.

I quickly cleaned her, and cleaned up the mess as well. Honestly, I didn’t really take this matter seriously as there wasn’t signs of fever or she didn’t seem to be not feeling well. But after an hour, she vomited the second time and this time, I am worried. Very worried.

I asked B to drive us back to our place so that I could bring Yvette to her family doctor instead of running into any clinic nearby.

When we reached the clinic, unfortunately, our family doctor was on reservist and Yvette was attended by another doctor.

After examining Yvette, the doctor told me Yvette was down with Virus infection which resulted the vomiting. He told me not to worry as for now but continue to monitor for any diarrhea or fever.

After we left the clinic, Yvette vomited again. In fact, she vomited twice in the clinic too. When we got home, the vomiting didn’t go away. She simply throw out everything she consumed even water.

Back home, she vomited again. She really can’t eat anything even breast milk she also throw out.

While updating this entry, hubby asked me how many times Yvette actually vomit as of now.

My reply to him is many. She has thrown out around 8 times at home and I think this is getting more and more serious. She has not been eating and I also didn’t dare to let her eat because once she eat, and drink, she will vomit.

Oh gosh, she just woke up and thrown out. This time, we saw yellow phlegm and we guess should be acid from her stomach!

IMG_1691

16 thoughts on “She Goes “Merlion”

  1. Have to monitor if she can keep any food down, and whether she gets weak & lethargic. I brought my no.3 to KKH A&E when he was 21mths when that happened for about 2 days n he got v weak n didn’t even hv that much strength to bf. He was hospitalised n on “drip” for 1 night b4 he had energy to breastfeed again.

    • Thanks for your advice.

      We just back from clinic and fed her medicine… but she thrown out 15 mins later.

      She is weak and tired. Barely eat anything but seem ok with water as of now. She thrown out the breastmilk this morning too.

  2. Oh, I hope she gets better soon! When I was in hospital with Zhi En, the boy in the other bed had the same symptoms (throwing up everything he ate and drank). His father told me that it was caused by a virus. His son had to be hospitalised as he was getting dehydrated from insufficient fluids and was very lethargic.

  3. Oh no…you will still have to feed her water to prevent her from getting dehydrate. Better bring her back to the clinic for review if she doesn’t get better today.

    • I know I can’t stop giving her water and she asked for it too. She will cry very hard if she doesn’t get to drink water. So water is still given but not a lot. Every 20 mins I will let her have some water if not I think she will be dehydrate by now…

  4. water itself not so useful, right? Need to have some electrolytes or something like that. Can give like 100plus type of drink? Will help to hydrate. If not, then the electrolytic drinks like Pedialyte from pharmacy.

    Pedialyte: http://pedialyte.com/

    Or our asian remedy is rice (porridge) water.

    And there’s homemade electrolyte drink, altho’ the “recipe” components sound yucky. I think our rice water sounds tastier.

    Electrolyte Drink
    Yields 4 cups (1 liter)
    2 tablespoons sugar
    1/4 teaspoon baking soda
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    4 cups water

    .When your baby has diarrhea or is vomiting, she quickly loses vital fluids. It’s important to replace those fluids with breastmilk or formula. You may also want to supplement with a commercially prepared or homemade electrolyte drink, which is easy on her tummy (if your pediatrician says it is all right).

    1. Place the water in a saucepan and boil for at least 10 minutes.
    2. Mix the salt, baking soda, and sugar into the boiled water. Stir until completely dissolved. Add some orange juice, if you like, to improve their taste.
    3. Store in the refrigerator for up to a day. Shake well before using.

  5. Hi, I came across your blog. I hope your daughter is much better. Vomitting that many times is really serious.
    I agree with sammicheng that rice water will be good for your daughter to drink.
    Do let us know how she is doing.

    • Thanks Don for leaving me your comment.

      Yvette is slightly better. I have given her Pedialyte® Freezer Pops (I don’t have many at home) but need to give her rice water and hope she won’t reject that tomorrow.

  6. Pingback: Yvette is 1 Year 11 Months (23 mths) Exactly « Once In A LifeTime

  7. Pingback: About Our Child’s Immunity System « Once In A LifeTime

Leave a Reply

