Battery Saver on Mobile (Alert)

How many parents like me?

Yvette likes to play with our mobile phone so with that I didn’t buy her any a play mobile phone. But after reading a post about “Mobile Alert” in Young Parents, I changed my mind and quickly headed down to Toys R Us to get Yvette a phone toy. I gotten Yvette this Elmo Phone (I wanted to get Vtech Tiny Touch Phone , SS$31.90 recommended by YP) but i opt for the other option because I can’t find it there.

IMG_5646

To cut the story short, when I brought this toy, the sound was loud and clear. After I removed it from packaging (in class) on Monday, the sound became soft. I quickly went down to Toy R Us to check with the staff. The staff told me “battery weak”, “go home and change” without even check for me. :S

I went back home to change the battery, the sound still soft. 😦

I decided to went back to Toys R Us to change for another phone on Tuesday but Yvette was down with rashes.

So I only went back to the toy store today and learnt about this little hole behind the phone to be inserted with a piece of plastic call Battery Saver. The staff there helped me to fix the phone inserted a piece of plastic and the “loud” sound really come back

IMG_5647 -  Edited

Here the extract of the article on “Mobile Alert” in YP.

Question:

Is it safe for my baby to play with my mobile phone?

Answer:

There are many studies conducted over the years to determine if there is an increased risk of brain tumour associated with the use of mobile phones. Most did not find any association with increased risk. But there is still significant scientific uncertainty, especially over long-term health implications after 10 years of usage. And because none of these studies were conducted with children, no one knows what the risk is to them.

What we do know is that the use of mobile phones is know to affect sleep patterns and cognitive function (memory and attention), and may cause headaches and dizziness in sensitive individuals. In light of this, the World Health Organization advises caution, advocating the Alara principle (As Low As Reasonably Achievable), or the prudent avoidance principle when allowing infants and young children to play with or use the mobile phone.

After reading this article, I have another thought… When to give Yvette a mobile phone in the future when mobile phone now is a necessity (not luxury anymore)?

9 thoughts on “Battery Saver on Mobile (Alert)

  1. I’ve read about possible adverse effects of mobile phone usage on children, so I have been cautious since pregnancy:
    – avoid usage of mobile phone near baby, use landline whenever possible
    – when using mobile phone and baby is near, I use the loudspeaker function and hold the phone further away, or keep conversation very short
    – before sending an SMS, hold phone a full arm’s length away from baby then press ‘send’
    My husband and I are consistent with the above and we also let caregivers such ad the confinement lady and family members know our preferences

    Young brains are still developing, so I’d rather be cautious. Hmm… as I’m a SAHM, I don’t think there is a need to give my child a mobile phone until he is a teenager. 🙂

  2. MieVee,

    Don’t why your comment went into spam.

    Anyway, I didn’t pay attention when I was pregnant. Your input is a great insight for me. Thanks for sharing.

    As for giving mobile phone to Yvette, I am thinking when she is 13 but well, lets how it goes.

  3. I couldn’t half be bothered about the mobile phone and it’s rays. Gee, you can’t avoid it yourself these days. They can have their brains fried as far as I can care if we have to take all that much precaution. If you are so worried – DON”T use a mobile phone, and don’t use all the other electronic devices as well!

    My kids all take our “old” mobile phones. So most would have one by the time they are in p3 to p5. Me & dh would change our phones each time our contract expires every 2 years, plus I get a new mobile phone from my singnet biz subscription renewal every 2 years too. I usually take the new phone and pass on the “old”. They usually don’t bring their mobile phones out regularly or use it regularly until they are in pri 6 or secondary school.

  4. I bought a vtech phone at Mothercare for Chloe too with the same issue, the phone became much softer when we remove the tag at the back.

    When I wanted to change for a new thing (thinking it’s not working), the staff at Mothercare told me that this is a safety function for most kid’s toys.

    Cos it’s a phone, kids will put them on their ears (pretend play) and the loud sound is actually not good for their ear drums, once you remove the tag, the volume will become much softer which will not do as much damage as the loud volume.

    We tried it on ourselves, it’s true, the loud volume is actually very uncomfortable on the ears.

    Explanation given by sales lady on why they have the loud sound effect is to enable the parents to hear what are the toy’s functions in noisy shopping malls. She was telling me if the toys were on normal volume, it can’t attract both parents & kids’ attention (which I do agree).

    I would suggest you to remove the tag and let the phone work on low volume, better be safe than sorry.

  5. Sam,

    Yes it hard not to use electronic devices at all. The technology is gearing toward paperless, how can we possible avoid them?

    Lazymummy,

    Thanks for telling me.

    Just now I put the phone near my ear. It’s really loud. Will remove the tag for Yvette.

Leave a Reply

