Yvette Learning & Having Fun – Lesson 2 (Dec 7 to Dec 13)

English - Letter B

After reading with Yvette for two consecutive weeks, I realized, she did develop certain liking for books. She particularly like flap book and her favorite character is Spot. And Yes, I have been reading Spot with her; we have 13 of them at home. No wonder she developed special liking for him. -__-

SO my task now is to help her to expand her liking besides Spot. Sadly, she still didn’t like the book chosen by me for this week. But Yvette could keep uttering the word “Bear” when I show her the book.

Plenty of activities going on for the week including two crafts we did at home. But I have accidentally left Maths for this session. The science we went thru brought our some fear out of Yvette. And we have one field trip for learning too.

If you will like to find out what we did for the past week in details, click to continue.

Lesson plan set out using the following sites and some of my own ideas:

Home School Creations

Confessions of Homeschooler

I tried to set a routine for Yvette to start the lesson after her breakfast before she moved to her toys herself. (All our toys are mostly kept in the IKEA toy box and some boxes on the floor. I want Yvette to be able to access to her toys and giving her chance to explore at her own interest any time of the day.)

IMG_3658

I will then pass her the card I did for her for the letter of the week. This week I have done a card using the beans. She did the same as last week, trying to pull out the bean from the card. Apparently, this time, we made the card so well that she can’t even move one bean. (But I had forgotten showing her the word bean whilst I teaches.)

IMG_4291

After telling her the letter, I moved on to read her the book I have chosen for her for the week. I wanted to read her “We’re Going on a Bear Hunt” but decided to drop the idea though she got in touch with this book in GUG before.

Book To Read To Yvette: This is the Bear (Read Review Here)

English - Letter B1 - Edited

We did two crafts for this week. Bubbles Bubbles & Binocular. Yvette seems to enjoy doing craft with me. Her involvement of making a picture out of bubbles is almost 100%. Where else for Binocular, she could only contribute 30% of her effort.

IMG_3674 - Editd IMG_4112

Teaching Banana, Book & Ball were easy. I just show her the word banana when she was eating them. I just keep telling her this is a book when I read to her. As for ball, I just keep repeating and show her the word card that I did.

Inflating and deflating Balloon brought out some fear from Yvette. And this is the science activity I did with her for the week. Yvette usually will be thrilled every times she sees balloon but not this round. Thus, I know she was scared seeing her cousin blowing the balloon for her.

English - Letter B4

When I was teaching Bird, I brought her to Jurong Bird Park. This was a field trip for her. I think heading to somewhere where she can see many birds will give her a deeper impression.

IMG_4282

The Songs and Rhymes for the week is “Fly, Fly, Fly the butterfly”.

Some other words to consider will be Bridge, Blow, Button, Boat, Bee, Box, Boy, Bed, etc.

English - Letter B2 - Edited

Not many trips to the playground as we were out most of the time. But I still manage to squeeze in three trips for her. And a trip to one indoor playground – Peek-a-boo with Papa. Love these pictures taken when she was having fun in the playground.

IMG_3926 IMG_4058

Daddy put her on this “circle thingy” for some balancing. She seemed to be afraid but she didn’t mind to feel it again and again.

IMG_4069 IMG_4072

She seems to be easy attracted by the object on the floor. Anything and everything can trigger “her exploration engine”. Look at her interest in touching the ground made me smile. Sometimes I do worry too; anything can end up in her mouth too!

English - Letter B3

A trip to West Coast Park to experience flying kite seems to be less interesting to her but she seemed to be contented of being able to run round the big field and playing with the sand.

No learning activities for Maths.

English - Letter B5 - Editd

A wooden toy for motor skill was introduced last week. I brought this from John Little Sales for around S$10. This test trained her to turn out the circle wooden block. It’s also a toy meant for teaching shapes. While playing with her, I teach her the shapes too. I passed her a mineral water bottle for this motor skill too.

IMG_3680 IMG_4163

I added the fork, spoon and knife of IKEA into her usual “set” – bowl, cup and plate. As mentioned in her monthly update, her concentration improves. Without me guiding and rushing her to complete, she can sit down there for less than 10 minutes to complete the whole set. With this outcome, now I need to find new “toy” for this skill again.

Besides playing with her new kitchen set, she still loves to play with the box. And while I was cooking, she  asked me for pot and pan so that she could cook in the kitchen with me.

IMG_3805

Ride, Rocker, pushing her shopping cart was her favorite activities for last week. She did that again and again every day.

From time to time, she loves to sit in front of the mirror to admire and taking to herself.

IMG_3907

Well, the above sum up how she spent another week holiday with me at home. And due to personally commitment, there won’t be a weekly activities for letter C and letter D. Instead of doing them weekly, I am doing them bi-weekly. Too much thing to do and too little time!

3 thoughts on “Yvette Learning & Having Fun – Lesson 2 (Dec 7 to Dec 13)

  1. My friend and I were recently talking about how modern society has evolved to become so integrated with technology. Reading this post makes me think back to that debate we had, and just how inseparable from electronics we have all become.

    I don’t mean this in a bad way, of course! Ethical concerns aside… I just hope that as memory becomes less expensive, the possibility of copying our brains onto a digital medium becomes a true reality. It’s one of the things I really wish I could experience in my lifetime.

    (Posted on Nintendo DS running [url=http://kwstar88.livejournal.com/491.html]r4i dsi[/url] DS FFOpera)

Leave a Reply

