A Trip to Geylang Serai

Before I proceeded to details of my entry, I will like to wish all our Malay Folks

Selamat Hari Raya Adidilfitri

*****

After meeting a mum to pick up a shoe for Yvette, I waited for my niece’s boyfriend, Bryan to pick us up at AMK taxi stand. He drove us to Geylang Serai, a place he has never visit before! -.-

We managed to park our car in an open field car park and walked to the hawker centre near Haig Road. Hubby called and will join us for dinner too.

While walking toward the hawker centre, I asked Bryan to try their “Bak Gua” (Malay BBQ Beef). I am not sure you can find them elsewhere. I only tried them once and I like it very much but I never see any place selling this before. I would say if you can take beef, try it. It is nice. Tender and juicy!

Every stall name themselves as number 1 (This handsome walked away after knowing I am taking the picture of him with his stall.)

Every stall name themselves as number 1 (This handsome man walked away after knowing I am taking the picture of him with his stall.)

As for dinner, I am not eating. It’s Bryan hasn’t taken his dinner. We ordered the Fried Hokkien Mee for Hubby. He waited for awhile for it but he told me it’s worth the wait.

While they were eating, I walked around with Yvette rather than sitting there. Yvette will definitely want her dad to carry her.

There were plenty of stalls around due to their coming new year. I saw a Malay little girl doing Henna.  She allowed me to take a picture of it.

Nice hand art. Only 5 bucks!

Nice hand art. Only 5 bucks!

After they finished their meal, we started to walk around. The purpose of my trip here is to find a set of Malay Costume for Yvette. She needs it for her Tuesday Lesson in JGC. They are required to dress in that to celebrate the Hari Raya in school.

Yvette in Action

Yvette in Action

It was really crowded. After walking many stalls, I finally found a Nyonya Costume for Yvette. It cost me S$32 after I bargained. Although I like the Kebaya from another stall but I decided to give it a miss. The reason of letting it goes because the size was just right for Yvette. Yvette can’t wear it again for the next year. So I can’t get one with right size.

Her new

Her new Nyonya Costume. (Alternation requires)

2 thoughts on “A Trip to Geylang Serai

Leave a Reply

