Shepherd’s Pie

I am too lazy to cook a full meal today. So I resorted to cook one dish meal instead. I decided to give Shepherd’s Pie a try.

My Shepherd's Pie

My Shepherd's Pie

Ingredients:
5 Russet Potatoes (Peeled and cubed)
1 packet of un-sweeten soy milk (200ml)
3 tbsp of un-salted butter
200g of minced meat (pork)
½ cup of carrot
½ cup of Swiss brown mushroom
½ cup of frozen peas
1 large onion
3 cloves of garlic
4 slices of cheese
Some seasoning such as salt, light soya sauce and pepper
Method:
Food5
  1. Steam the potatoes with some salt till it soft. (I prefer steaming as I wanted to retain the nutrient of the potatoes.)
  2. Sauté the onion with 1 tbsp of butter till it soft. Add carrot, mushroom and peas according to the cooking time.
  3. Add minced meat and saute until no longer pink. Add light soya sauce and pepper.
  4. Placed the cooked meat in a casserole.
  5. Mashed the cooked potatoes with 2 tbsp of butter. Mix it with the un-sweeten soy milk till it reaches a consistent paste.
  6. Distribute the potatoes on top of the cooked meat.
  7. I put 4 slices of Craft single cheese on top of the potatoes instead of other as hubby is not a cheese lover.
  8. Bake till the cheese until bubbling and brown for about 30 mins in 200C in the oven.
Serve 6

As my niece was off from work due to her migraine, I brought this pie over to their place and to share with them. (My second SIL has 3 children. (Age 24, 22 & 18)  And all of them were at home when we were there.) BOTH my hubby and my niece ask me about was there any staple food like rice, bread or noodles.

I was like o_O.

I told them, isn’t potatoes, a staple food? There is salad too. (We brought our salad along.)

They explained they are Asian and need food like rice, bread or noodles. So in the end, they packed a medium size of fried rice and 5 chicken wings.

All of us love this pie. (6 of us including my SIL) It is nice and really easy to cook. Try it!

2 thoughts on “Shepherd’s Pie

Leave a Reply

