Food I introduced to Yvette @ 14mths onward

No new fruit given in this month.

I added fruit juice to her diet too. Every Tues, Thurs and Fri after her class, I will buy her fruit. I extract juice at home using our juice extractor too.

I removed diary product from her diet. Milo Ball, cheese, yogurt and etc are being removed. By not eating yogurt, she still poops 2-3 times per day. This had indicated she is taking sufficient of fibre in her diet.

Her snack will be mainly fruits and some baby biscuits stored at home.

New snack

DSC03554

Cheerios is whole grain (frosted whole grain oat & corn cereal). This is highly recommended by Jayden’s mum (Yvette’s class mate from LNT). It a good source of Calcium & Vitamin D. It is free from saturated fat too. The downside is; it is a bit sweet. Currently I treated it as a snack rather than a breakfast cereal for Yvette. Perhaps it will be better for Yvette to eat as breakfast cereal with unsweetened soy drink. This can be found in Cold Storage. I am not sure can it be found in other supermarket like Giant, Carrefour, etc, but not in NTUC.

Cereal

Out of the sudden, I am push back to Yvette’s infancy. I have tried so many types of cereal in this month.

Milestones4

  1. Organix First Organic Banana Porridge – Organic wholegrain baby rice & maize flakes with banana & added Vitamin B1. No sugar added & 35% of fruit in it.
  2. Nestum – Whole wheat cereal with 25% less sodium and Trans fat free. I try giving this cereal because some mums from IDO baby forum do give to their child. This tin of cereal has been lying in my cupboard for sometimes. I have not been drinking it. I mixed them with baby formula milk. But Yvette doesn’t like it.
  3. Quaker Quick Oat (blue packaging) – This is actually my breakfast. But Yvette likes it. So now I mix with formula milk and add a tbsp of LSA.
  4. Organic Baby Oat – I have introduced this to her when she was a 7.5 mth baby. But she dislikes it. I am going to introduce her again once we have finished the Quaker Quick Oat.
  5. Millet cereal – I thought it will be nice. However, after trying it together with Yvette, both of us don’t like it. It has a very powdery taste.

Seeds & Nut

DSC03594

LSA is a combination of linseed, (flaxseed), sunflower seeds and almonds. It is rich in protein, essential fatty acids (including Omega 3, 6 & 9) fibre, minerals and antioxidants. It may assist digestion, elimination, circulation, immunity, nerve function, joint mobility and overall well-being.

Linseeds (flaxseed) are source of omega 3 fatty acids; sunflower seeds contain vitamin E, magnesium and tryptophan, white almonds are a good source of protein, and also contain a healthy mix of essential vitamins and minerals, including Vitamins B6, E and magnesium. These three combine to make LSA a nutritious, cleansing, natural food and a great addition to your daily diet.

Sprinkle over cereal or ice cream, whip into yoghurt or blend into a shake or smoothie to obtain the full nutritional benefits of LSA. Ceres Organics LSA can also be used in muffin, bread and cake mixtures to increase dietary fibre intake.

Drinks

DSC03553

Natura Soy drink contains no lactose, no cholesterol, and no Trans fat and included 16 essential nutrients. Yvette still loves them as much as the first time she tried them. I have stocked up the drink at home.

Salt

DSC04190

I have changed our normal salt to another type with less sodium and added mineral to it. I brought this brand because it was having sales. There are two brand of such salt sell in NTUC. I read the label; both are having about the same content.

As a mum, I realise I do more homework on how to take care of my baby’s wellness as compared to those homework and revision I did for my ACCA examination!

4 thoughts on “Food I introduced to Yvette @ 14mths onward

  1. Noted. I find it sweet too.

    Thanks for telling me. I will give away this to my niece again who love my baby’s food.

  2. When I brought this, I only attracted by these word – good source of calcium and vitamin and forgotten about frosted.

    I given that away to my niece already.

    Thanks both mummies for telling me there is a healtier choice around.

Leave a Reply

