A Trip to the West

What is interesting in the west side of Singapore?

I bet you can list down a few under your finger tips. Singapore Jurong Bird Park, Singapore Science Centre, Labrador Park, Chinese GardenBukit Timah Nature Reserve , plenty of farms located in the north-western part of Singapore, etc.

And today we were here, Singapore Science Centre!

DSC02532

I must thank my niece for the invitation. The organization that she and her boyfriend were working for held a Family Day in Singapore Science Centre. The entrance fee, food & snacks were all highly subsidized for. Each ticket only cost us S$5 and this ticket allows us to enter Science Centre, watch a show in Omni Theatre at S$7, have fun at Snow City at S$10, free lunch at MacDonald, plenty of pop-corn and a stroller bag for free. Such a good deal!  

No Pain No Gain; thus we need to pay for our gain. We need to be there at 9am. I have to wake up at 7 plus to cook lunch and dinner for Yvette. I have to drag Yvette up at 8.10am where she was still in her sleep. When I brought her to bath room at 8.15am, she just couldn’t open her eye. She was so tired that she stands with her eye shut while I supported her using my leg. Poor Girl. She finally opened her eye after she heard the sound of running water. She made some fuss over it but was back to her normal self shortly. We quickly dressed her up. And get all the things done. But we were still late. We reached there about 9.20am by my niece’s boyfriend car. Luckily, there wasn’t any “punishment” on my niece and her boyfriend. (My SIL and my nephew came along too.)

Although Science Centre is only 8 minutes walk from Jurong East MRT, I never thought of bring Yvette there because I feel my child will only appreciate the “science” when she is older, like 18 mths. Apparently I was wrong; we had so much fun there. (I have not been to the Science Centre for donkey years.)

In Science Centre, those “science concepts” were present in a very amazing and creative way and Yvette seems to understand here and there.  Beside those “science concepts” there were plenty of “opportunities” around for play. One of Yvette’s favorite exhibition halls in Science Centre was the Discovery Zone. She loves watching those little living creatures in a crawl-through, or walk though insectariums. And she loves playing the slide with me too.

Yvette loves those living creatures

Yvette loves those living creatures

Yvette loves the slide play

Yvette loves the slide play

After the moving around from one exhibition hall to another, we finally enter the highlight for Yvette for today in Science Centre. That is to have fun at Water Works. We gotten all wet after the water play. As I remembered to pack her swimming suit but forgotten getting the towel and a set of clothing for myself. Papa brought a T-Shirt and a towel from the souvenir shop for us. (He couldn’t get any bottom for me.)  I cleaned and dressed Yvette. I didn’t bath Yvette as the water was really cold as the heater was off. Not suitable for babies. Some toddlers also didn’t bath as well. All agreed that the water was really cold.

Science Centre3

I loves the toilet!

I loves the toilet!

Yvette went wild during the water-play

Yvette went wild during the water-play

We had lunch after water play. Yvette was definitely tired and hungry. Usually I will prepare more food than the usual portion Yvette normally eats; she really ate a lot during her meal time. And she got to enjoy a packet of Milo while we ate our lunch. (Papa was away with my SIL and nephew for a show in Omni Theatre.)

Our lunch and the left over pop-corn. (Think total we had 7-8 boxes.)

Our lunch and the left over pop-corn. (Think total we had 7-8 boxes.)

Yvette's lunch, fried rice. She ate half a box. That was really a lot for her!

Yvette's lunch, fried rice. She ate half a box. That was really a lot for her!

Yvette happily drinking the half a packet of milo

Yvette happily drinking the half a packet of milo

I asked told my niece to wait for them at MacDonald if not it will not be easy for them to get a seat for their lunch. Their show ended at 15 mins to 1 pm. Yvette was so happy to see her papa again. Due to the fact that my bottom was still wet, my niece insisted and suggested driving out to get a bottom for me. I agreed and we left Mac while they were having lunch.

Since our next stop was to the Snow City after lunch and after I got a new set of clothing for myself. (Jurong East Centre had changed so much. Most of the shops there were new to me. I have not been there for years.) In the car, Yvette was again back to active mode again.

Yvette was standing on the seat when the car stop for traffic light. She's trying to reach for my niece!

Yvette was standing on the seat when the car stop for traffic light. She's trying to reach for my niece!

Although Snow City is just next to Science Centre but it a fair distance away from where we were (at MacDonald). Due to Yvette’s safety, we decided we shan’t go ahead if the place was really crowded. And as expected, it was so crowded.

With that we decided to call it a day.

On our way out, I found something really familiar to me during days where hand phone wasn’t too common and when public phone was so easily found.

Do you miss them?

Do you miss them?

Oh yes, and today I discovered Yvette is a bit “not normal”. Although from time to time she wanted to be on the ground. I was quite reluctant to let go of her but she was behaving differently today. Instead of using her legs to crawl this round which she usually does, she used her legs to stand and cruise.

Is she ready?

Is she ready?

P/S: No additional fee is required for the Water Works, it is part of the entrance fee.

One thought on “A Trip to the West

  1. Pingback: Just Two of Us to Singapore Science Centre « Once In A LifeTime

Leave a Reply

