A Typically Meal For Us

I try to cook dinner every day. I feel it is very important to eat home-cooked food for dinner (after a day hard work). My niece who visited me almost every wed told me she love having dinner at my place with a decent meal. (I love to cook for her too.) This motivates me to cook for everyone. 😀

Well, a typically meal for my family is really very simple. A soup, a veg and a meat. Hubby attends class on every Mon, Wed and Fri. (His last lesson is this Friday. Hehe) On these days, I will really go as simple as possible. (Only me and Yvette)

Here are the dishes I cooked yesterday.

Dou gan (one for Yvette (Need to remove the skin for Yvette) one for me) & Fishball for me!

Dou gan (one for Yvette (Need to remove the skin for Yvette) one for me) & Fishball for me!

Veggie soup - Corn, carrot, potato, dried scallop and pork

Veggie soup - Corn, carrot, potato, dried scallop and pork

Chicken (Complimentary from mum)

Chicken (Complimentary from mum)

For today dinner, since Yvette has class at 4, I usually will get the dinner done during her nap time. I will choose dishes that will still taste nice after warm up in microwave. (A rule of thumb is, never fully cook the food if you know you will need to heat them up later. 70% done will be good. After heating up in microwave, it will be 100% cooked subsequently.)

Another tip for preparing meal is to choose an ingredient that you can use to cook porridge for your child. This will save you some time in meal preparation.

I have chosen to cook long bean tonight and I used the long bean to cook porridge for Yvette.

Long Bean with minced meat porridge (only suitable for baby above one if salt is added.)

Ingredients:

  • Long Bean (Finely chopped)
  • Minced Meat
  • Garlic

Method:

  1. Stir fry long bean with garlic and minced meat.
  2. Add a little salt for flavouring
  3. Remove them and add them to the cooked plain porridge in another pot. Boil for 2 mins.

Long bean porridge

And here are the dishes for our dinner tonight as well as Yvette’s dinner. (She loves raddish soup.)

Radish Soup

Radish Soup

Long bean with (dried) shrimp

Long bean with (dried) shrimp

Luncheon meat with Potato

Luncheon meat with Potato

Leave a Reply

